Paso Robles News|Wednesday, January 17, 2018
You are here: Home » Sports » Bearcats beat San Luis Obispo, induct hall of famers
  • Follow Us!

Bearcats beat San Luis Obispo, induct hall of famers 

Photo courtesy  Paso Robles Schools District Athletics

Paso Robles High School inducted new members to its Athletic Hall of Fame at Friday night’s football game. Photo courtesy Paso Robles Schools District Athletics

The Paso Robles High School Bearcats football team beat San Luis Obispo High School Tigers 56-14 Friday night at War Memorial Stadium in Paso Robles.

The win improves the Bearcats record to 6-2, 1-1 in conference. The Tigers remain winless at 0-8, 0-2.

The Bearcats dominated the first half, leading at halftime 35-0. The Bearcats cleared their bench in the second half.

The Bearcats have a bye next week. They finish out the regular season at Righetti High School in Santa Maria on October 28th and at Atascadero November 4th.

The Tigers play two tough home games against Atascadero next week and Arroyo Grande on November 4th.

Hall of Fame Paso Robles High School

Clockwise from top left: Alan Gaylord, Scott Larson, Derrick Jasper, Randy Roeder, Ashleigh Bertoni Craig. Photos courtesy Paso Robles Joint Unified School District.

Paso Robles High School inducted five new members into its Athletic Hall of Fame Friday during the halftime of the varsity football game.

Ashleigh Bertoni Craig

Ashleigh Bertoni Craig (class of 2006) – Bertoni Craig played soccer, volleyball, and participated in track while at Paso Robles High School and served as captain for all three teams. In soccer, she was a 3-time all-league selection and 2-time Defensive Player of the Year. In track, she was a 2-time league long jump champion, set the school record in 2004, was league champion in 400m individual, and participated in the CIF Finals in long jump and 400m individual. In volleyball, she was all-league and 2-time all-county. She earned a scholarship to Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo for volleyball and was Freshman of the Year.

Derrick Jasper

Derrick Jasper (class of 2006) – Jasper played varsity basketball for Paso Robles High School for four years where he was 4-time all-league, 2-time PAC 5 MVP, 2-time SLO County Player of the Year, 2-time All-CIF first team honors, captain, and made a CIF semi-final appearance. He earned a basketball scholarship to the University of Kentucky where he was on the All-SEC Frosh Team, 2-time Academic Honor Roll, and captain. He transferred to UNLV where he was a 2-time captain.

Scott Larson

Scott Larson – Larson was the Paso Robles High School athletic director from 1982- 1996. He was the varsity basketball coach from 1977-2006 and 2007-2011, the longest coaching tenure in the high school’s history. His teams had an overall record of 433-351. As head coach, his teams earned 10 league championships and two CIF semi-final appearances. The 1998 team was undefeated in the regular season. He coached 9 All-CIF players, 8 SLO County MVPs, and 13 league MVPs while earning the California Coaches’ Association California Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year in 2009.

Randy Roeder

Randy Roeder (class of 1975) – Roeder played varsity football and baseball for three years. He was a two-time all-league selection in football and a part of the 1974 CIF champion team. In baseball, he was a 2-time all-league selection and captain. Randy was the Cuesta College Athlete of the Year in 1977 where he was an all-conference punter and 2nd team all-state baseball player. He played baseball for the University of Arizona where he started in the outfield for two years, was a member of the All-Academic Team, made an appearance in the College World Series, and was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Alan Gaylord

Alan Gaylord (class of 1957) – Gaylord was a member of the track and cross country teams at Paso Robles High School. He finished 3rd in the 1957 California State High School Championships in the mile at 4:24.00 and held the school record from 1957-1967. He earned an athletic scholarship to the University of California, Berkeley where he was a 4-year letterman in track and cross country, cross country team captain, undefeated in track dual meets as a sophomore, AAWU (PAC -8) 3-mile conference champion, and set conference record in 1960 at 14:12.00. That record was later broken by Steve Prefontaine. He also competed in 10,000 meter race at 1998 World Masters Meet.

Subscribe to daily news

Join our 4,700 daily email subscribers

Share this post!Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter


Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.