Paso Robles News|Tuesday, January 31, 2023
You are here: Home » San Luis Obispo County Department of Planning and Building
  • Follow Us!

San Luis Obispo County Department of Planning and Building

976 Osos St #200, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401, USA
976 Osos Street San Luis Obispo California 93401 US
The County of San Luis Obispo is a general law form of government, meaning it is governed by a variety of statutes enacted by the California State Legislature providing common functional and organizational guidelines for county governments.
The County of SLO provides a spectrum of local government services, including: law enforcement, criminal justice, fire protection, health service, public assistance, road construction and maintenance, water and sewage systems operation, land use planning, agriculture, library services, and recreational opportunities.
The County not only provides “umbrella” service and protection for the 125,000 residents who live in the incorporated cities, it provides direct and local government service to some 100,000 residents who live in the unincorporated areas, such as Baywood/Los Osos, Cayucos, Cambria, Nipomo, Oceano, Templeton, and San Miguel.
San Luis Obispo County as a region is, in recent history, growing. Population reached 33,000 in 1940 and grew to 51,417 in 1950; 81,044 in 1950 and 105,690 in 1970. In 1980, the census reports show the population to be 166,435, showing Atascadero, Baywood/Los Osos, Nipomo, Arroyo Grande and Grover City as the significant growth areas.
The County government focuses tremendous effort upon balancing the resource requirements of its ever-growing population with the need and desire to maintain the county’s attractive and hospitable environment.