Paso Robles News|Friday, August 12, 2022
You are here: Home » Politics » Duane Picanco re-elected mayor
  • Follow Us!

Duane Picanco re-elected mayor 

Mayor Duane Picanco

Mayor Duane Picanco

Voters re-elected Paso Robles Mayor Duane Picanco Tuesday as widely expected.

Picanco received 85 percent of the votes totaling 6,343. He faced two write-in candidates Gary Nemeth and Jeff Rougeot. The San Luis Obispo County Clerk-Recorder reported a total of 1,061 write-in votes for mayor.

Picanco has lived in Paso Robles for 32 years and has served as the Downtown Parking Chairman President and Zone Chairman for the Lions Club. He also has been on the boards of Camp Fire Girls, Youth Football and St. Rose School. Picanco served eight years on the planning commission and is still involved in sports activities.

Picanco says he would like to keep working to continue economic improvement. “We have our economy turning around, and I want to see this continue,” Picanco said in a campaign statement earlier this year.

“We have done what it takes to get through these tough economic times, and we are starting to see the very positive signs in our local economy as a result of this effort. We reduced costs and staff, actively pursued and worked with new companies coming into town, such as the Hunter Jumper Horse Park, TJMaxx, BevMo and many more. We are filling our downtown vacancies as quickly as they come available.”

“I continue to support tourism, our local hoteliers, the Wine Alliance, Main Street and the Chamber of Commerce. As mayor, I have always believed in supporting not only the businesses of Paso Robles but the youth and families including youth sports and Barney Schwartz Park fireworks.

“This is a very exciting time, and I am looking forward to leading Paso Robles toward a very bright future. I hope you will vote for me for mayor in 2012.”

This report is based on the Final Unofficial Results posted by the San Luis Obispo County Clerk-Recorder:



About the author: Publisher Scott Brennan

Scott Brennan is the publisher of this newspaper and founder of Access Publishing. Follow him on Twitter, LinkedIn, or follow his blog.