Paso Robles News|Monday, July 16, 2018
You are here: Home » Community » Women for Agriculture SLO award $10,000 in scholarships
  • Follow Us!

Women for Agriculture SLO award $10,000 in scholarships 

Twenty-five local youth awarded scholarships to assist students with college fees

California Women for Agriculture SLO

–The California Women for Agriculture San Luis Obispo County chapter awarded 25 local youth more than $10,000 in scholarships to assist students with college fees and 4-H and Future Farmers of America animal projects in preparation for the annual Mid-State Fair. Further fundraising for the scholarship program is set for Sunday, September 4 at the Loading Chute, Creston with their annual Burger and Brews Festival and Competition.

Since the county chapter’s formation in 2011, it has been active in supporting youth in agriculture. Scholarship amounts awarded in 2016 were a record for the chapter who over the past six years has awarded $27,750 to local youth.

Chapter President Kamee Knutson said they are working to promote a strong agriculture industry in San Luis Obispo County. “Our programs throughout the year raise funds for our scholarship program,” Knutson said. “I am proud of our chapter for reaching this milestone and achieving a new level of funding to support so many young agriculturists.”

There are two scholarship programs a 4-H and Future Farmers of America Project Scholarship Program, and a Collegiate Scholarship Program. In 2016 four high school seniors received a scholarship as part of the collegiate program. Recipients included Alina Dzukola, Conner Vernon, Caitlin Hopkins and Michael Dye who are entering college or trade school.

Twenty-one youth received assistance with their 4-H and Future Farmers of America livestock projects. The chapter provides financial and educational assistance and emphasizes the importance of accurate records and
budgeting. Recipients include:

  • Beef Scholarship: Mikaela Jensen
  • Poultry Scholarship: Hope Fardanesh
  • Swine Scholarship: Sydney Pruit, Blake Fardanesh, Delaney Dusi, Briana Castorena, Luis Castorena, Sarafina Treder, Sage Anne Plaskett, Sarah Kier, Rori Degeer, Rylie Degeer, Cristal Muniz, Kendall Ruggles, Chole Stilits and Katlyn Ogle
  • Sheep Scholarship: Bella Marden, Lindsey English, Lauryn English, Sydney McGovern and Chelsea Stilits


For further information visit



Facebook Comments Plugin Powered byVivacity Infotech Pvt. Ltd.

Subscribe to daily news

Join our 5,031 daily email subscribers

Share this post!Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter


About the author: News Staff

News staff of the Paso Robles Daily News wrote and edited this story from local contributors and press releases. Scott Brennan is the publisher of this newspaper and founder of Access Publishing. Connect with him on , Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, or follow his blog. He can be reached at