Paso Robles News|Wednesday, May 27, 2020
You are here: Home » Politics » Carbajal appointed to U.S.- Mexico interparliamentary group
  • Follow Us!

Carbajal appointed to U.S.- Mexico interparliamentary group 

Representative Salud Carbajal templeton women in business

Representative Salud Carbajal.

–Earlier this week, Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced the appointment of Central Coast Congressman Salud Carbajal (D-Santa Barbara) to the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group for the 116th Congress:

“I’d like to the thank Speaker Pelosi for appointing me to the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group,” said Carbajal. “As a Mexican-American, I am committed to strengthening our alliance with our southern neighbor. Mexico is one our top trading partners as the second-largest buyer of U.S. goods and the third-largest consumer of U.S. agricultural products. Collaborating with Mexico is crucial to the strength of our economy and national security, and both of our countries prosper when we work together to promote peace and opportunity.”

“The United States and Mexico share more than a border, but a common history and shared values that have been essential to securing peace, prosperity and hope for the people of both nations,” said Speaker Nancy Pelosi. “It is a privilege to name members to the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group for the 116th Congress. Our members bring their deep knowledge and firm values to the critical mission of ensuring that this essential bilateral relationship remains strong and effective today and into the future. Guided by the clear vision and leadership of Chairman Henry Cuellar, these outstanding members will work tirelessly to expand opportunity, advance equality and ensure prosperity on both sides of the border.”

The full list of Democratic Members of the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group is below:

  • Congressman Henry Cuellar of Texas – Chair
  • Congressman Salud Carbajal of California
  • Congressman Lou Correa of California
  • Congressman Vicente Gonzalez of Texas
  • Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee of Texas
  • Congresswoman Veronica Escobar of Texas
  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California

Share this post!
Share on Facebook


Tweet about this on Twitter



About the author: News Staff

News staff of the Paso Robles Daily News wrote and edited this story from local contributors and press releases. Scott Brennan is the publisher of this newspaper and founder of Access Publishing. Connect with him on Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, or follow his blog. He can be reached at