Paso Robles News|Wednesday, May 22, 2024
You are here: Home » Top Stories » Fireworks allowed in limited parts of SLO County
  • Follow Us!

Fireworks allowed in limited parts of SLO County 

July 4th‘Safe and Sane’ fireworks allowed in some areas

– Many residents and visitors will be celebrating the nation’s independence this July 4th. Cal Fire and San Luis Obispo County Fire urge extreme caution during California’s drought emergency. It can take hundreds of thousands of gallons of water to control a large wildfire, according to Cal Fire.

All fireworks (use, sale, possession) are illegal in San Luis Obispo County. There is zero tolerance for the sale and use of fireworks. Violation will result in a misdemeanor citation with a $2,000 fine.

The only exception is state regulated “Safe and Sane” within the following jurisdictions:

  • San Miguel Community Services District
  • Templeton Community Services District
  • City of Arroyo Grande
  • City of Grover Beach
  • Oceano Community Services District
  • City of Morro Bay, (on private property)


The use of all fireworks is prohibited in all other areas of San Luis Obispo County. The public is encouraged to celebrate our nation’s independence by attending a professional fireworks display.

Public fireworks displays will be held at:

  • Pismo Beach – Pier at dusk
  • Cayucos – Pier at dusk
  • Santa Maria – Santa Maria Fair Park at dusk


Share To Social Media


About the author: News Staff

The news staff of the Paso Robles Daily News wrote or edited this story from local contributors and press releases. The news staff can be reached at