Paso Robles News|Friday, March 1, 2024
You are here: Home » Politics » Paso Robles Groundwater Basin Advisory Committee meets May 22
  • Follow Us!

Paso Robles Groundwater Basin Advisory Committee meets May 22 

map of the Paso Robles Groundwater Basin

A map of the Paso Robles Groundwater Basin. Image from City of Paso Robles

At its regular meeting this week, San Luis Obispo County Supervisors approved a list of 26 appointees to the new Paso Robles Groundwater Advisory Committee,. The committee’s first meeting is set for May 22 at the Paso Robles City Hall.

The new committee membership is a revision of the first proposed list floated April 8. Supervisor Debbie Arnold initially expressed concerns that certain stakeholders weren’t adequately represented. She wanted to see more representation from rural areas to balance out what was originally a list heavy in agencies and the bigger players. Supervisors agreed this week to add two additional representatives — one each appointed by Arnold and Supervisor Frank Mecham, whose districts encompass the basin.

Members of the county’s Paso Robles Groundwater Advisory Committee

Atascadero Mutual Water Company 
Member – John Neil, alternate is Jaime Hendrickson
Central Coast Vineyard Team
Member –  Kris Beal, alternate is Willy Cunha
City of Atascadero
Member –  Vacant, alternate position is vacant
City of Paso Robles
Member – Christopher Alakel, alternate is Christine Halley
County of Monterey
Member – Vacant, alternate position is vacant
Monterey County Water Resources Agency
Member – Vacant, alternate position is vacant
Paso Robles Imperiled Overlying Rights
Member – Steve Sinton, alternate is Kent Gilmore
Paso Robles Wine Country Alliance
Member – Patricia Wilmore, alternate is Jerry Reaugh
San Miguel Community Services District
Member – Anthony Kalvans, alternate is Dan Gilmore
Shandon – County Service Area 16
Member – Donna Ellis, alternate position is vacant
SLO County Cattlemen’s Association
Member – Kurt Bollinger, alternate is Dale Evanson
SLO County Farm Bureau
Member – Paul Clark, alternate is Megan Silcott
Templeton Community Services District
Member – Jeff Briltz, alternate is Tina Mayer
Upper Salinas-Las Tablas Resource Conservation District
Member – Laura Edwards, alternate is Devin Best
City of San Luis Obispo
Member – Vacant, alternate position is vacant
Undesignated Representative
Member – Larry Werner, alternate is Miller Newlon
Viticulture Agriculturalist
Member – Dana Merrill, alternate is Robert Brown
Non-Viticulture Irrigated Crop Agriculturalist
Member – Bill Spencer, alternate position is vacant, but an application has been received
Environmental Representative
Member – Sue Harvey, alternate is Daniel Meade
Rural Residential Representative – District 1
Member – Randy Diffenbaugh,  alternate is Randy Heinzen
Rural Residential Representative – District 5
Member – Greg Grewal, alternate is Dr. Serena Friedman
Rural Residential Representatives
Member – Sue Luft, alternate is Michael Baugh
Member – Claudia Engel,  alternate is Maria Lorca
Member – Edward C. Redig,  alternate is Jim DeRose
Member – Steve Crouch,  alternate is William Frost
Member – George Tracy,  alternate is Don Wilson


Share To Social Media


About the author: News Staff

The news staff of the Paso Robles Daily News wrote or edited this story from local contributors and press releases. The news staff can be reached at