Paso Robles News|Tuesday, October 19, 2021
You are here: Home » Community » Women of Distinction awards return to Cuesta College
  • Follow Us!

Women of Distinction awards return to Cuesta College 

Cuesta College Women of Distinction Cuesta College and the Community Foundation San Luis Obispo County’s Women’s Legacy Fund announced Friday that the 37th Women of Distinction Ceremony will be held March 20, 2014, from 4–6 p.m. at Cuesta College in Building 5400, Room 5401. Last held in 2010, the ceremony and awards are returning with its original purpose – to celebrate Women’s History Month (March) and recognize the contribution that women have made in the areas of volunteering in the community, their profession and in philanthropy.

Nominations for the four awards are currently being accepted. The awards are:
– Progress for Women Award
– Community and Public Service Award – Professional
– Community and Public Service Award – Volunteer
– Grace N. Mitchell Lifetime Achievement Award

“The Cuesta College Foundation is pleased to partner with the Women’s Legacy Fund to revive these awards recognizing the achievements of women in our county,” said Shannon Hill, executive director of Cuesta College Foundation/Advancement. “We are especially proud to recognize the legacy of Dr. Grace Mitchell with the Lifetime Achievement Award.”

“We are really excited to collaborate with Cuesta College,” said Mary Verdin, president of Verdin Marketing and chairperson of the Women of Distinction Planning Committee. “There are so many women in our community who work hard behind the scenes helping others — they should be recognized!”

The deadline to submit nominations is January 31, 2014. For more information on the awards and nomination submission instructions, please visit:

The history of Women of Distinction goes back nearly 40 years. In the mid-1970s, Cuesta College held a Women’s Conference – a one-day event to promote women as leaders and look back at their influences in history. The event evolved to include an award in 1987 and in 1990, the program expanded to include the four awards that exist today.



About the author: Publisher Scott Brennan

Scott Brennan is the publisher of this newspaper and founder of Access Publishing. Follow him on Twitter, LinkedIn, or follow his blog.